All About this Blog

January 28, 2011

I read William Ukers All About Coffee in 2009, the actual book. I used the interlibrary loan system in Atlanta, I had to wait a week and a half to have it sent to the main library branch, I had to sign some paperwork, and I had a limited amount of time with the book.

The process was quite enjoyable, the reading of the book that is, the size and weight of it alone conveyed a feeling about the caliber of information contained within. It is an immensely informative, interesting book, jam packed with amazing photographs and illustrations. The best part is that there is not a single picture of latte art in the whole thing! (for all you talented or aspiring baristas, I do appreciate the presentation, just sick of all the pictures, nothing personal)

Recently I was looking to reference some material in the book and realized that it was available in electronic formats on Gutenberg.org and for sale on other websites as the book was released into the public domain April 4, 2009. As I was searching for information, I was disappointed at how uncomfortable it was perusing the book in its various electronic formats on my computer. I began to wonder what that book might look like in a different format. That is when I dreamt up this project.

This may not be the most ideal format, but the only way to find that out is to give it a try.Essentially this blog will have two lines of thought. The original linear book format will be preserved as pages on the site, making it easy to access, like an interactive table of contents. The actual blog posts will be pulling out interesting relevant information from the book, and re-presenting it with commentary.

For all of you casual coffee drinkers all the way up to the hyper enthusiastic coffee nerds I hope to hear from you all, the interaction will most likely be some of the most interesting content here. Hopefully the experiment is successful, and some interesting new bits of information can be shared in an interesting new way.

Leave a comment